
STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREME COURT 

C9-81-1206 

ORDER AMENDING THE RULES OF 
THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER 
REGISTRATION 

The Minnesota State Bar Association filed a petition with this Court on November 

1,2007, recommending amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer 

Registration. The petition sought to increase the lawyer registration fee by $8 00 per year 

and to allocate that additional money for a lawyers assistance program. This Court, in an 

order filed January 3,2008, invited written comments on the proposed amendments. The 

comment period has now expired. 

The court has reviewed the petition and is advised in the premises 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the attached amendments to the Rules of the 

Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration he, and the same are, prescribed and promulgated 

to be effective with the registration cycle deadline of July 1,2008. 

Dated: March /g 2008 BY THE COURT: 

OFFICE OF 
APPELLATE COURTS 

MAR 2 0 2008 

FILED 

lwh!T- 
Russell A. Anderson 
Chief Justice 



Rules of the Suprente Court on Lawyer Registration 

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE 

A. Required Fee. 

In order to dekay the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the bar 
and disciplinary proceedings, to defray the expenses of administering continuing legal 
education, to provide an adequate client security fund, to help fund legal services 
progranls, and to help fund a lawyers assistance prograln, each lawyer and each judge 
must pay to the L,awyer Registration Office an annual registration fee. 

B. Active Statuses. 

Each lawyer and judge ntust pay an annual registlation fee of $ 2 2 4 ~  or such lesser sun1 
as is set forth in the following sections. 

1. Active Status--Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income 
fro111 all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year ntust 
pay an annual registration fee of $%a 
2. Active Status--Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty. 

A lawyer or judgc on fulltime duty in the armed foices of the United States must pay an 
annual registration fee of $- 

3. Active Status--Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty--Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge on fullti~ne duty in the armed forces of the United States who certifies 
that the lawyer's or judge's gross inconte fkom all sources, excluding the inco~ne of a 
spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $8%& 

4. Active Status--Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years. 

A lawyer or,judge who Itas been adntitted to practice law fewer than three years in each 
and every licensingjurisdiction, including Minnesota, nlust pay an annual registration fee 
of $1-887&& 

5. Active Status--Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years--Income Less Than 
$25.000. 



A lawyer orjudge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three years in each 
and every licensing,jurisdiction, including Minnesota, and certifies that the lawyer's or 
judge's gross inconle from all sources, excluding the inconle of a spouse, is less than 
$25,000 per year nlust pay an annual registration fee of $ M 9 5 . 5 _ Q I  -- 
C. Inactive Statuses. 

I. Inactive Status--Out-of-State. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the 
lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer orjudge (i) is a 
permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) 
does not hold judicial office in Minnesota and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in 
Minnesota, nlust pay an annual registration fee of $ a &  

2. Inactive Status--Out-of-State--Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the 
lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is a 
permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) 
does not ltoldjudicial office in Minnesota (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in 
Minnesota, and (v) certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross incolue fro111 all sources, 
excluding the inconle of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year nlust pay an annual 
registration fee of $mu 

3. Inactive Status--Minnesota. 

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the lawyer's 
registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the State of 
Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not holdjudicial office in this 
state, and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state  nus st pay an annual 
registration fee of $a!& 

4. Inactive Status--Minnesota--Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer who files with the L,awyer Registration Office on or before the date the lawyer's 
registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the State of 
Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold j~tdicial office in this 
state, (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, and (v) certifies that the 
lawyer's or judge's gross income fro111 a11 sources, excluding the incon~e of a spouse, is 
less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of 



5. Inactive Status--Retired. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Retirenlent Affidavit 
stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive status, (ii) does not 
hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, (iv) 
is at least 62 years of age, and (v) is retired fro111 any gainful enlployrnent is exempt from 
paynlent of any registration fee during the period of the lawyer's or judge's retirement. A 
Retirenlent Affidavit, once filed, is effective for each succeeding year unless the lawyer 
or judge transfers to active status pursuant to section C7 of this rule. 

6. Inactive Status--Permanent Disability. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registratio11 Office a Disability Affidavit 
stating that the lawyer orjudge (i) is currently on active or inactive status, (ii) does not 
Itold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, and 
(iv) is totally disabled is exempt from payment of any registration fee during the period 
ofthe lawyer's or.judgels disability. A Disability Affidavit, once filed, is effective for 
each succeeding year unless the lawyer or judge transfers to active status pursuant to 
section C7 of this rule. 

7. Transfer from Inactive Status to Active Status. 

A lawyer or,judge who is on inactive status must, prior to practicing law or assuining 
judicial responsibilities, (i) prolnptly notify the Lawyer Registration Office, (ii) complete 
a lawyer registration statement, (iii) pay the applicable registration fee, (iv) complete all 
continuing legal education (CLE) requirelnents and be transferred to CLE active status, 
(v) conlply with Rule l.IS(i), MRPC, and (vi) coinply with Rule 6 of these rules. 

1). Allocation of Fees. 

Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule: 

(1) Payments of $224229 - are allocated as follows: 
$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
$122 to the L.awyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

* $12 to the Client Security Fund; 
$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 
$86 - to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program. 

(2) Payments of $%2y4 - are allocated as follows: 
$23 to the State Board of Law Exalniners; 
$6 to the State Board of Continuing L,egal Education; 



$122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
$12 to the Client Security Fund; 
$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 
$816 - to the L.awyer Trust Account Board for a lawyeis assistance program. 

(3) Paynlents of $%190 - are allocated as follows: 
$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
$83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Boald; 
$12 to the Client Security Fund; 
$50 to the Legal Selvices Advisory Committee; and 
$816 - to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program. 

(4) Paylllents of $153165 are allocated as follows: 
$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
$83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
$12 to the Client Security Fund; 
$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 
$8516 to the L,awyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program. 

(5) Paynlents of $Mrl._rS are allocated as follows: 
$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
$5 to the State Board of Continuing L,egal Education; 
$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
$50 to the L.egal Services Advisoly Comn~ittee; and 
$816 - to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program. 

(6) Payments of are allocated as follows: 
$23 to the State Board of Law Exanliners; 
$5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 
$8L6 - to the L,a\vyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program. 

(7) Payments of $ l o o m  are allocated as follows: 
$23 to the State Board of Law Exanliners; 
$6 to the State Board of Continuing Leegal Education; 
$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
$12 to the Client Security Fund; 
$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 
$816 - to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance progam. 



(8) Payments of $Wm are allocated as follows: 
$23 to the State Board of Law Exanliners; 
$6 to the State Board of Co~ltinuing L.egal Education; 
$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
$12 to the Client Security Fund; 
$12.50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 
$&a to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program. 


